Storytelling Through a Photograph

quotefinal

For this project, we were given quotes at random. From these quotes, we were able to go in any direction we chose with them. In order to complete the composite photograph above, I used two different software programs: Adobe Lightroom and Adobe Photoshop CC 2015.

When I was thinking about what direction to take the quote, I knew that I wanted it to also appear on the final image. Keeping that in mind, I decided that I was going to need a space for it, so it would be easily readable.

The reason I chose to feature an electrical outlet was because I feel that in our society, we have become dependent upon them. We use it daily, even just for turning on the lights, cooking, and charging our phones that we always have with us. This is not to say that it’s a bad thing though. In fact, I believe that our future will rely on electricity to advance in research and technology. The galaxy picture of a watercolor painting I created is used to represent the future. This can be taken literally or figuratively. Whether you think the future is in space or in the possibilities of life, it is seen pouring out of the socket as a liquid.

The most difficult part of this piece was getting the puncture on the outlet to look like it was metal and connected. The puncture was made by photographing a piece of plain white printer paper that I had previously torn a hole in. By combining the images and using various tools in photoshop, I was able to achieve this effect.

Image | This entry was posted in Best Work, Non-Timebased and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

