Abstract

https://vimeo.com/141712969

The concept of abstraction I chose to use for this project was musical/rhythmic abstraction. A piano cover of the song “I Am a Stone” by Demon Hunter was the inspiration behind the movement of the shapes I have laid out. The introduction of the song was used and animated through the different colors and shapes. The lower tones are represented by circles in blues, purples, and black, whereas the higher tones are represented through triangles in pink and orange. The middle tones in the introduction of the song are illustrated through the use of squares in yellow and green. As the notes from the piano start to fade out, the shapes make their way down the composition. I think I was moderately successful in achieving this concept. The shapes move in a fairly smooth way down the composition at about the same rate. While I have the lower tones fading, some of the higher tones are coming in at the same time, and I think that I was relatively successful in trying to move some of the circles down the composition while also integrating the higher tones into the piece.

I researched Larry Cuba and Adam Beckett for this project. Adam Beckett’s work inspired me the most. The shapes and colors he used in “Kitsch in Synch” influenced my own choices in shapes and colors. In the beginning he uses very geometric shapes (0:26-0:30 for example). The other animation that I watched by Adam Beckett was “Sausage City.” I tried to use the constant movement that he shows in this animation with many objects at once (for example in 1:15-1:25) in my own animation (0:04-0:05). However, where Beckett’s moving objects are connected, mine are separate. Larry Cuba’s animations were a little different than Beckett’s animations. “Arabesque” was very busy and had a lot constantly going on. I did like how the objects seemed move off of the page though at 4:28-4:33 with their constant smooth movement. In “Calculated Movements,” during 0:23-0:25 the lines he has in the animation move in straight, smooth lines. I really liked the concept of having my objects move in straight lines like this to make it seem like there was a direction they were going to go when the sounds faded away, instead of just disappearing (0:05-0:07 in my own animation).

I think that the strongest motions in my animation are from 0:04-0:05. The shapes all move consistently down the page and disappear at a fairly normal pace. It isn’t too fast, so the viewer can register what is going on.

**Unfortunately when I was putting the video of the animation together, an error occurred when trying to convert the video of the music that I was using, so there is no sound in the animation. If you are interested in listening to the music that inspired the movements in this animation, I have provided a link below to the video. The parts I used for inspiration are from times 0:00 to 0:18.

https://youtu.be/hcbv0-zOz1k

This entry was posted in Time-Based and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

